My Kids Were Too Old To ‘Trick Or Treat’ This Year, But I Still Stood In The Frigid Outdoors

halloween

Halloween 2013, or actually Trick or Treat Day 2013 as the candy hunters’ purge was this past weekend.  Yes, my children were too old to partake in this years festivities.  That was both good and bad.  Good because I could keep myself indoors and warm while watching football American style.  Bad because I wasn’t able to beg and guilt my way into some of my favorite candy pieces.  That was was a fair trade in my opinion.  But somehow and I’m not sure how, but I ended up standing on the side of the road watching my daughter pass out candy.  My son, by the way, stayed home.  Yeah, exactly what I was thinking…unfair!

So I strapped on my camera and took pictures until my finger became too cold to press the shutter button.  Okay, it really wasn’t as bad as I’m making it sound, but it’s in my nature to whine lol…

THE SETTING

Halloween sign monster clowns

THE CANDY PASSERS

witch witches Frankenstein

THE TREATERS

trick or treat

Here they come!!!

 

child

Our first visitor

mad hatter

My favorite costume of the day!!

mad hatter

He posed for the guy with the camera. Thank you kind sir.

That was pretty much our event for the year.  I really did have a good time, I just like to complain lol.

Happy Halloween everyone!!

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Kids Were Too Old To ‘Trick Or Treat’ This Year, But I Still Stood In The Frigid Outdoors

    • I’ve heard horror stories about that struggle and even saw high-schoolers out collecting candy. But neither one of my children wanted to go. I was very lucky lol.

      • I remember that struggle with a step-daughter. She threw down a bag with very little candy in it and complained about the number of people who told her she was too old to trick or treat. 🙂

      • My niece wouldn’t pass out any candy to people she deemed “too old” to trick or treat lol. Although, she went when she was a freshman in high school, but has long since forgotten about that.

Leave a Reply

