A Small Town Car Show and By The Way, Those Things Stink

So, it’s the end of summer and what better way to wrap up a small town summer season than with a car show.  I’m not really a car guy, but it was Sunday and I needed something to photograph for this week’s blog post, as well as something to write about.  Since this event would cover both of these, I called my dad and we made our way to this car show that I don’t know the name of.  I guess these things have a name other than “A Bunch of Old Cars Parked in a Vacant Lot to Reminisce Over”.  I wasn’t aware of that fact.  Given that I can barely pump gas in my own clunker, I was keen enough to know there were some pretty cool cars there.  A big clue for me that I was looking at a “hot ass ride” was when a gaggle of observers was lording over them with questions like, “Is that a 8 cylinder?”

I also found out that photographing a car show in the dead afternoon sun with only a camera is very difficult as those cars are so polished up that you catch every reflection in the paint.  I didn’t use any filters and I now regret that.  Plus I used a 35-80mm zoom lens…big mistake as I had to step further away than I wanted from the vehicles and always had someone cutting in front of me.  Well, now I know.

What really struck me as odd was, as I stuck my head inside these old vehicles to see what everyone else was oohing and ahing  about, I was hit with this smell, a musty smell, a headache producing smell at that.  I was thinking to myself, because there was noway in hell I would say it out loud, these things stink!  I couldn’t sit in one without having a massive headache as a trophy.  We even saw price tags asking $30k for some of these smelly things!  WTH?

I was able to plow through this show and came to the conclusion that the big takeaway is, I was able to spend a couple hours with my dad at a car show and he loves cars.  He had a myriad of stories about each make we ran across or the year in which they were produced.  So, even if I was a little whiny about the sun and no filters even though they were in our car and I just didn’t want to walk back to grab them and complaining that the cars were parked to close together, we had fun.  And that’s what’s really important.

picture of The Car Show picture of a car picture of a car

picture of a mustang  picture of a mustang picture of a car

picture of a car engine picture of a car

Thank you for visiting.  I appreciate that you take time out of your day to stop by for moment.

Until next time, please take care!

3 thoughts on “A Small Town Car Show and By The Way, Those Things Stink

Leave a Reply

