The Great Mohican Indian Pow-Wow

Great Mohican Indian Pow-Wow

A couple weeks ago or maybe three, I can’t remember anymore, I attended my first Indian Pow-Wow.  I can’t really say why I never caught one before now, probably too darn hot or some other similarly sad yet seemingly reasonable excuse at the time, but I really enjoyed it.  I can’t wait until September for the next one.  There were a lot of Indians, big surprise I know, performers, great food, sunny skies and a great setting.

I took as many pictures as I could and I’ll include them here in what will feel like an endless line of images.  I found out the easy way you can’t take pictures of everything otherwise the elderly gentleman with a mic will announce to photographing world to stop taking pictures please. So we stopped.  I did capture as many as I could of the day and in particular the parts of the ceremony we were able to photograph and/or record.  I hope you enjoy them.

Oh, ha-ha, I just saw the dates in the picture above with the dates I was there lol…

Pictures of Mohicanpictures of an Indianpictures of Indians

 

These guys seemed to appear out of nowhere.

This next gentleman played the most beautiful music from what I believe was a flute that he made.

Picture of  an Indian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next series of images are of the beginning of the ceremony and The Hoop Dance.

pictures of Indianspictures of Indianspictures of Indians

 

pictures of Indianspictures of Indianspictures of Indians

 

There was a period of time after the completion of this dance when we weren’t able to photograph or record.  The last few images are of the very end of the ceremony when photography was allowed again.

pictures of Indianspictures of Indianspictures of Indianspictures of Indians

 

These last three are my favorites…

pictures of Indianspictures of Indianspictures of Indians

 

 

There’s my day as seen through a dslr camera.  If you ever have a chance to go to an Indian Pow-Wow do yourself a favor and go.  It’s quite a cultural and learning experience.

Thank you for visiting.  I hope you enjoyed your stay.  If you did, please hit like or share, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Until next time…please take care of yourselves!

8 thoughts on “The Great Mohican Indian Pow-Wow

  1. I went to my first Pow-Wow several years ago. I was only able to shoot with very specific permission.

    I made the mistake of putting my camera to my face just to do TTL metering; not to shoot, but it was enough to get a lecture on not shooting without explicit permission as I could get jumped by a number of the people there.

    The dancer who warned me allowed me to take a few shots of him in ceremonial dress. I’m very grateful to him.

    • This was my first experience and they did a great job of announcing when we were allowed to photograph and not. I’d like to catch more of them in the future.

Leave a Reply

