HAZZAH!! A Vintage Baseball Afternoon

baseball baseLast weekend my daughter and I spent a hot, sunny, Sunday afternoon (yes, a hot and sunny day in Ohio, which is rare these days because it’s rained everyday since) watching a couple games of vintage baseball.  I’m a huge baseball fan and this was the first vintage game I saw.  It was a much different game in the late 1800’s than it is today, that’s for sure.  Just a couple real quick examples, there were no called balls or strikes and if a struck ball was caught on the first bounce it’s an out!  Awesome!!

Needless to say, I loved it!  My daughter, not so much.  I anticipated that but she hung in there like a champ.  If it was up to me, I would follow these teams all around the state to watch them play on weekends.  I’d become a vintage baseball deadhead.

On this day there were two games, a women’s and a men’s game, pitting a ragtag Galion team against the visiting and veteran Columbus Muffins.  They were both great games and the home team came away with at least a draw for the women.  The Galion men…I’m sure they had fun.

The games were played on a big field behind the hospice building.  Below are some of the images I captured of them.

vintage baseball

 

vintage baseball

vintage baseball

vintage baseball

vintage baseball

 

vintage baseball

 

vintage baseball

 

coin toss, vintage baseball

 

vintage baseball

vintage baseball

 

vintage baseball

 

That was our Sunday in pictures.  Thank you for visiting!  I truly appreciate it!!

Please “Like” and share.

Until next time…stay safe.

8 thoughts on “HAZZAH!! A Vintage Baseball Afternoon

Leave a Reply

