Murissa and the 5k Run

Yesterday morning my daughter, Murissa, and niece, Ashley, ran their first ever 5k.  It was the fourth annual Moving Hearts and Soles 5k Run/Walk held in memory of Dr. Theodore Ebner.

I’m immensely proud of my daughter for a number of reasons. One, as parents, my wife and I want both of our children to be active in the community and since this event was organized by the Galion Community Hospital Orthopedic Center along with dozens of other community sponsors, we felt this counts.  Even though as a 13 year old she doesn’t fully realize the importance of this day, she will at some point in her life and she’ll have these photos to look back on (whether she wants to or not lol).

And secondly, after basketball season ended she hasn’t really exerted herself much physically and with summer break in full swing, I didn’t think she would leave her room much until August.  Surprisingly though, once Ashley invited her to enter the event, she ran two and three mile stretches to prepare for it.

Now, I have to let you know, there is some controversy over the finish time.  The official clock showed them coming in around 30 minutes, BUT their timing mechanism had them crossing the line at about 28 minutes.  Will we ever get to bottom of this?  Probably not, but Holy cow, there’s another reason to be proud.  I couldn’t run half a mile without collapsing and they did a little over three in, I’ll say, 29 minutes!!  Kudos to everyone who participated!

Anyway, below are some of the images I captured of the day.  I hope you enjoy them.

The 5k starting line

My daughter is in there…somewhere

I think that's her...

I think that’s her…

...there she is!

…there she is!

...and there's Ashley

…and there’s Ashley

and they're off!!

and they’re off!!

There were more participants then I thought there would be.

There were more participants then I thought there would be.

Some of the early finishers

Some of the early finishers

HERE THEY COME!!

HERE THEY COME!!

Perhaps the best drink of water, ever!

Perhaps the best drink of water, ever!

All hail the runners!!

All hail the runners!!

Thank you so much for visiting! I truly appreciate it.

Please “like” and feel free to share if you so choose.

Until next time…be safe!

Leave a Reply

