Oh, The Places You Should Go, In Galion O – #1 Big Plate Diner

Big Plate Diner

Big Plate Diner

I sorta borrowed a Dr Seuss book title for this post or if I was a hip-hop artist, I sampled it.  As the title suggests, I want to spend a few posts writing about the good things Galion has to offer.  My first post about her, The Slow Decay of a Dying Town, was a somewhat sobering look at what this place used to be.  But there are still some positive things happening and this is the first of those.

I’m not posting these in any particular order, just as I come across them.  The first place I’m writing about is the Big Plate Diner!  A very nice restaurant situated in the heart of downtown.  They’ve been open for awhile, however, just last week was the first time I ate there.  To say the least, I was pleasantly surprised.  So surprised that this has became my new favorite place to eat.

I felt this was going to be a special stop as soon as I opened the door to go in.  The decor oozed a friendly, warm, welcoming retro atmosphere that swept me up and took me back in time to a place I could have ordered an old fashioned cherry Coke.  This is the kind of joint Richie Cunningham would have hung out in.  Not only did it look inviting, but the service was top notch as well.  One very kind and engaging lady welcomed us in and did everything except prepare the meal.  To my knowledge, she didn’t, but hey, I wouldn’t be surprised if she did.  She seated us, took our orders, kept our coffee cups full and cashed us out!  All with a genuine smile on her face.

Dinning area

Dinning area

Breakfast Nook

Breakfast Nook

Dinning area

Dinning area

But the real surprise of the experience was the meal itself.  The main event!  You can share all the wonderfully warm moments I just described, but if the meal falls short, so does the whole visit.  I was in noway prepared for what was delivered to our table.  First of all, the size of the portions were huge!  I know I was eating at the Big Plate Diner, but I wasn’t expecting our plates to this big!  What else can I say, the place is aptly named!  But, even more amazing than that, was the food!  The best meal, from a restaurant, I’ve had in awhile, fresh ingredients, perfectly prepared, well seasoned.  Perfect!

BPD 0139

Breakfast 1

Breakfast 2

Breakfast 2

If you’re ever in the Galion, Ohio area, make it a point to have breakfast at the Big Plate Diner.  You won’t regret it!

Thank you for reading.  I truly appreciate it.

4 thoughts on “Oh, The Places You Should Go, In Galion O – #1 Big Plate Diner

Leave a Reply

