Extremely Loud and a Great Night Out

Last night my wife and I were part of a rare occurrence…

A night out without the kids!

Date nights have become an ever elusive commodity that now involves heavy pre-planning and outside cooperation. This time it all came together very quickly and with the babysitter set, we chose to see a movie. Our first choice was The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. However, since someone is a slow reader and didn’t finish the book before the movie ended its run at our local theatre, we caught Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close instead.

This was a nice choice for a couple reasons. Seeing more movies is one of my New Year’s Resolutions (I’m getting kind of tired of saying New Year’s Resolution by the way, I just can’t seem to stop though) and it wasn’t a movie that involved a boot wearing cat, talking race cars or computer animations. It was an adult movie, with adult situations!! I forgot what those are! Growing up I always wondered what “Adult Situations” meant. When the MPAA voice made this announcement before a movie my parents were about to watch, I thought it was talking about sex. That was a situation adults would have to contend with and a child wouldn’t. I was under the impression every movie was chalk full of these universal situations and not just adult oriented. After a steady diet of movies geared towards our pre-teen children, I have found that “Adult Situations” are a very welcomed aspect to my movie watching existence.

There were a lot of reasons to see it, Oscar nominated movie, Oscar nominee Max von Sydow, Oscar winners Tom Hanks and *cough* Sandra Bullock, that’s some serious fire power and good reasons to pony up $20. I was skeptical going in, given it only received lukewarm reviews, but I can say this, we loved it. The post 9-11, NYC backdrop and the emotional story of a 9 year old boy coming to terms with his father’s death a year after the Twin Towers collapse took his life had my wife sobbing. It wasn’t her Titanic cry, but there was a river of emotion pouring from her.

As much as I liked it, I can also see why the reviews are what they are. I wasn’t impressed with Hanks’ uber dad character, von Sydow’s performance was good but I didn’t find it Oscar moving and I took exception with the storyteller’s decisions on what to reveal and what to conceal. Not wanting to be a spoiler, I’ll leave it at that. On a side note, I found out the screenplay was adapted from a book written by Jonathon Safran Foer and hoped it would fill some gaps the movie left me with. Unfortunately, it received worse reviews than the film, so I’ll skip it for now.

All in all it was a great evening. Got to spend it with a beautiful woman, watched a good movie and picked up the kids and made a midnight’ish run to Denny’s. What can I say? We couldn’t keep kids out of the fun all night! Well worth a $20 bill.

2 thoughts on “Extremely Loud and a Great Night Out

  1. I’ve also been skeptical about this. I also read the not-so-great reviews (which I need to stop doing, before I watch movies), and I was immediately turned off of it. I’m glad it was at least enjoyable and that you and Laura had a nice night out! 😀

    • Thank you, Ashley! It was a good movie. If you’re looking for a philosophical, existential art film you’re going to be disappointed. I still say go and see it. If for no other reason, it has a couple Oscar nominations

Leave a Reply

