A Life Lesson from the Great Collapsible Menu War

Day 17 of 2012 and I still can’t declare victory in the Great Collapsible Menu War. I was so close to conquering the thing too, I mean, it was right there for the taking! I had Moriarty in my grasp and he slipped right through my fingers.  That’s a painful thing to endure, it really is. I’m not raising the white flag or anything just yet. So what if I have a collapsible menu that doesn’t collapse? It has panache. What’s more disappointing is this whole ‘designing my website when I have no clue as to what I’m doing’ was the basis for my attempt at a “365 Project” or whatever it’s called. At this pace I may come in at 120 posts, well short of one a day. I guess I could double up on weekends or something, but I feel like that would be cheating. Thank goodness this wasn’t one of my New Year’s Resolutions. Oh well, it is what is. And no, I haven’t called my B-I-L yet.

However in the course of this gruesome battle, I’ve made a discovery. Sure, I can be flippant and say, “It is what it is.” But, what is it, really? What have I truly learned, what’s my take away here? I know I’ve complained about this and that and that and this, but if I peel away the layers and take a deeper look, there’s a life lesson in this war. It’s definitely not a revelation, because I’ve been aware of it most my life. I just never took it serious enough. You can ask my wife afterwards and she’ll tell you she’s been after me about this for years.

So what is this life lesson you ask? Okay, here it is…I need a plan! I need to restructure my day. Make time for the things I want to do. I try to cram a lot of stuff into the couple hours I give myself each evening. I want to blog, I want to finish my website, I want to finish my 2nd screenplay, I HAVE to finish The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I’m not a planner, my wife can tell you about that too, but I need to make some changes if I’m to accomplish these things I just listed. I have a bold plan ready for take off tomorrow morning.

I know as my wife is reading this she’s asking, “What is this bold plan you speak of?” Well here it is in all its glory…Starting tomorrow, after I wake my daughter up for school at 6am, I’m not going back to bed. I’m staying up. In those 3 or 4 hours before I have to head off to work myself, I’m going to write and tweak my website. The evening hours, will be my reading time. I think this plan will work as long as I work the plan…more recovery house jargon there, but there is some truth in that also.

I’m going to wrap this up by saying this isn’t going to be easy, no sir. I’m an evening person by nature, staying up until 1 or 2 in the morning and then catching winks in between getting my children ready for school. I’m going to give it a heck of a try though and I’ll let you know how it goes.

Until next time…happy blogging.

2 thoughts on “A Life Lesson from the Great Collapsible Menu War

  1. Ok, we will see. I’ve been trying to keep you from going back to bed for years as well. I wish you the best of luck. Happy writting. And if all else fails, get a midnight shift job.

Leave a Reply

