New Year’s Resolution Update 1

Well here we are, 2 weeks into the new year already, man has time flown by. I don’t know about all of you, but I’m fairly pleased with it so far. I thought since I haven’t blogged in awhile and we’re 16 days into it, I’d give a quick update on my NYR’s. Not that anyone really cares, and that’s fine, but I think this will be a little therapeutic. A self assessment of sorts, that’s some leftover jargon from my halfway house/case manager days.

I can tell you now I’m not going to meet the “read 1 book a week” resolution. I’m only on page 64 of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and I started that thing in December. It’s a great story too. At least as great as any opening 64 pages can be. I’m going to push real hard to finish the son of a gun by next week so I can catch the movie while it’s still at the theater.

Speaking of the theater, that resolution isn’t going so well either. I haven’t been to any movies yet in 2012. I was almost there this past weekend, but it just didn’t work out. There are a lot of movies I want to see too, so hopefully by the February update I’ll be able to discuss a couple of films.

I guess you’re asking, “What the heck have you done so far this year?” And that’s a fair question too. I can’t argue with that. So let me tell what I have done. Diet! That’s right, my numero uno resolution is to lose some weight and get into shape. So what have I done? I have really watched my portion sizes, have cut out almost all fast food and that hasn’t been an easy thing for me to do. As tough as no fast food has been, nothing has been harder on me than saying goodbye to an old friend…Coke A Cola. It’s been a part of my life for as long as I can remember and I’ve been jonesing for a “real” Coke everyday for 2 weeks. My will has been strong so far, but this is the one that will cause me the most grief.

I can’t say that I’ve lost any significant poundage yet, but I’ve noticed some real subtle changes, such as my Coke bloat has subsided considerably and my pants are starting to feel a little looser. They’re not falling down yet, but I can tell. I’m really excited for my Friday weigh-in and I’ll tweet my weight lose after I get my results @onemundanelife.

That’s my 2012 New Year’s Resolution update this time. I hope the new year has found all of you in good spirits and in good health.

Until next time…Happy blogging!

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution Update 1

Leave a Reply

