15 Resolutions to be Broken in 2012

I’ve never been much of a New Year’s Resolution kind of fella, but I’ve resolved to be just that this year. So, I made a list of 15 resolutions to be broken in 2012.  Just because I never participated before, I do  understand that’s not how the game is to  be played. M y guess is that on a yearly basis not many of these things are really kept anyway. So being a realist, which isn’t one of my resolutions, I’m going out in a limb and saying that I will probably fail 12 of these. Please don’t allow that last statement fool you, I am an optimist.

Being an amateur at this I’m not sure if I’m being over zealous or not. 15 feels like a big number for a non-overachiever, I couldn’t help it though. Once I started, I couldn’t stop. Resolutions came at me from every direction and at all hours of the day and night. I mean, I’m lying in bed at night and like a bolt of lightning a resolution would strike me! Geez, am I spending enough time in bed? Do I need to resolve to spend more time in it? It was a titanic struggle but I warded off all but 15 of those little devils. These little battles did raise a few questions I hope all of you can help me with… What’s a normal amount of yearly resolutions? How many did you make? How many will you keep? I need some cold, hard numbers, please.

I could go on forever about my list making, but let me present to you my 15 New Year’s Resolutions for 2012!

1. Improved diet and regular exercise – My guess is that this is a very popular choice for such a list. In my case, it’s a necessity. I haven’t received any life altering news or anything, but my health is in jeopardy if I don’t make changes quick. That’s just shear understanding on my part. This is one I have to keep.

2. To be “Greener” – I don’t mean growing plants, but to become a better friend to the environment. Mind you, I’m not a trash dumping monster by any stretch of the imagination, but I’m definitely not pulling my weight in the whole “Make the world a better place for our children to live in” department.

3. Finish onemundanelife.com – Completing a website is more work than I thought initially and I spend most of my free time designing and redesigning. My resolution is to get the look and feel of the site done and focus on writing and reading.

4. Social Network more – Be more active on Twitter, Facebook and Google +.

5. Read more – I set a goal to read 52 books in 2012. 1 a week. This is bound to fail. I’m not sure why in the world I chose 52. I guess because it was a nice easy number to pick.

6. Watch more movies during their theatrical run – I love movies and I catch way too many in the secondary market.

7. Write more – This is as much a priority as #1.

8. Cuss more – not sure why. I think this slipped past me after a couple drinks on New Year’s Eve.

9. Attend a couple symphonies – I’ve been to a few in my life and I truly enjoy them. It’s been too many years since the last one and need to get back in the saddle.

10. Attend a couple plays/musicals – same as #9.

11. Go to an art museum – Never been to one, so this should be the year.

12. Attend church more – I’ve neglected this one for too long also.

13. Clean the basement – If I dung out the basement I double our living space. A no brainer right? We’ll see.

14. Clean the garage – This mess has been going on way to long. Definitely a spring/summer project.

15. Just be me – That means something, but that’s a blog for another day.

Well, there they are…15 beautiful resolutions for 2012. I’m not sure how successful I’ll be, but my goal is to keep each and every one of them.

Thank you for reading and I hope your 2012 is everything you want it to be.

Leave a Reply

