Christmas 2011 – The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

As Christmas 2011 winds down, it’s time to take a couple of minutes to reflect. This is my favorite holiday of the year and I’m grateful to be blessed enough to spend it with my wife and children.

Even though Christmas kicks off right after Halloween and the shopping season seems to last forever, I still have a tinge of sadness when the day packs up and moves on for another year. I can’t believe it when my two exhausted children finally give up and go to bed for the night, sissies, or when that last Christmas song of the season is played on the radio. It still boggles my mind that after all the build up; the day itself is over in a blink of an eye. Just that quick. Snap.

Anyway, as with any holiday there was a lot of good, a little bad and even some ugly, so let me get started.

The Good – The day always begins incredibly early, but that’s what happens with a couple of pre-teen children. It’s still amazing to see their astonishment when they first take in all that Santa has left for them under the tree. Very little beats that one moment.

Later in the day we had a wonderful dinner prepared by my wife. I think this is the first “Christmas Day” my wife has been able to spend with her mother since we’ve been married, so that was pretty awesome. Back to the food for a minute, I’m not sure where she learned to cook, but a great big thank you to whoever it was. I really did eat more than I should have, but it’s most likely the last big meal I have. I start a diet next week, you see.

We finished the evening by watching The Grinch, the cartoon, not the movie luckily.

Oh, I almost forgot to say how nice it was receiving Christmas wishes from around the globe from some very cool people I’ve met through the social networks. You know who you are, right?

The Bad – This was my first Christmas without my parents. They’ve both moved onto a better place…no, not that place, Florida. It’s been a dream of my mom’s for years to retire and spend the winters with her sister in the Sunshine State and this is the first year of that dream. I’m pretty sure my dad doesn’t share the same dream, but what’s a man to do?

Also, my niece moved all the way to Savannah f’ing Georgia and this was her first Christmas away from her immediate family. She and her new husband are starting their lives together so she wasn’t all alone down there. Just wasn’t with us is all.

Even though they weren’t, physically, in the same room as the rest of us we did Skype for about an hour this morning chatting it up. I know I listed this in the bad, but I’m very happy for both of them as they begin these new phases in their lives. I feel like I should warn them that it won’t be easy living life without me. Maybe, I should just let them find this out on their own.

The Ugly – Our daughter’s computer didn’t arrive in time for Christmas even though we were assured it would. Hopefully after some strong words from my wife on Friday, she’s the Dirty Harry in the family; the un-named company will get it to her by mid-week. It’s very tough telling one of your children, who just opened their new mouse and mouse pad, that her computer isn’t anywhere to be found. She handled it very well though, better than we did, so hopefully this is made right.

So… that’s my Christmas in about 600 words. I am truly fortunate and so grateful to have the life I have been given.

Merry Christmas to all!

4 thoughts on “Christmas 2011 – The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Leave a Reply

