My Daughter

Our Time

My daughter starts Middle School tomorrow.  Her first day at The Big School and I don’t know if this is going to be harder on her or me.   She’s a quiet girl, full of wonder and trepidation and at the same time carries an inner strength that she’s not even aware she has yet. So, I guess this first day will be harder on me as  I don’t posses the same strength she does.  She gets that from her mother fortunately, but I keep telling myself I’ll be ok.  I know she’ll do fine traversing those foreign halls, wrestling with her locker and sleeping through her first Study Hall.  All these things she’ll do with the poise and grace of a 12 year old.  Which is more than I can say for myself

It was just yesterday I was playing tag with her in the front yard and kickball in the back.  She wasn’t aware of Facebook or that boys aren’t just annoying.  I would read to her at night or watch Disney with her before falling asleep.  All of those moments have slipped away and another father and daughter will soon be creating their own Jonas Brothers memories.  I know I still have years of new memories in front me, such as her first date, her first true boyfriend, her first breakup.  For some reason, they don’t seem like they’ll be as much fun though.

I don’t want this post to be about how my daughter is growing so fast and “where did the time go?” sort of thing.  There’s a memory in the making every second of everyday.  I just have to be sharp enough to catch it.  No, this post is about her…

This is her right of passage, another step towards independence.  A start to who she’s going to be and what mark she’s going to leave on the world.  Each of us stood at the stone precipice of life and looked into the chasm of the unknown.  We each forged our best life and left our indelible marks upon the face of it.  Now it’s her turn to prepare herself for the life she’ll lead.  She doesn’t realize any of this yet, nor should she, but I hope one day she’ll appreciate this time for what it is.  A time of self discovery.

I took the picture of the graffiti above almost a year ago.  I’m not sure why I snapped it at the time, but somehow it seems fitting tonight.  It simply states “Our Time”…

So, to my beautiful daughter…

Our time is slowly giving way to “Your Time”…

And I’ll be with you every step of the way.

One thought on “My Daughter

Leave a Reply

